Mena has a new Mayor and a new Police Chief today. Seth Smith (shown below) became mayor today after out polling two other candidates in the general election and winning the runoff election. Smith is a Mena native, has a background in public service, and has been a local business owner.

































Mayor Smith has named Tommy Stueart (shown below) as the new Mena Police Chief. Stueart is a veteran of the US Air Force, retired Arkansas State Police Trooper, and has recently served as Polk County's Office of Emergency Management Director. 

































Kris Lyle is the interim Office of Emergency Management Director. 


Long time Mena Policeman and Assistant Police Chief Ed Gibson retired at the end of the year. Gibson was elected to the City Council so will still be a part of city government.


Newly elected officials and returning elected officials will be sworn in by Judge Danny Thrailkill at 9:00 a.m. Wednesday, January 2nd in the Courtroom of the Polk County Courthouse. The ceremony is open to the public. 


1-1-19 6:00 a.m. kawx.org 



Mena Weather