JP Coogan and Councilman Gibson Defeated, Other Local Election Results


Polk County, Arkansas Local Election Results


There are 20,049 people in Polk County, 12,129 are eligible to vote, 8,497 or 70% of them did vote either by Absentee, Early, or on Election Day.


With 9 of 9 Vote Centers, Absentee and Early all reporting, below are the Complete but Unofficial Results for the local contested races.


NOTE-There are military and provisional ballots out and it is possible that they could change the outcome of a very close race.


The apparent winners are bolded.


JP District #3

Harold Coogan 324 or 38.57%

Levi Ellison 516 or 61.43%


JP District #5

Troy Lunsford 419 51.10%

Scott Kiersey 401 or 48.90%


Mena City Council Ward 3 Position 2

Ed Gibson 1,004 or 48.04%

Larry Stewart 1,086 or 51.96%


Hatfield City Council Position 1

Diane Osborne 57 or 48.72%

Paige Self 60 or 51.28%


Constable Potter Township

Eddie Price 575 or 71.70%

James Richardson 227 or 28.30%


Constable Eagle Township

Jimmy Titsworth 103 or 38.01%

Ray Hagler 168 or 61.99%


Issue 1, the .5 percent permanent sales tax for roads, passed in Polk County and statewide. Issue 2, changes term limits to twelve consecutive years for state legislators with the opportunity to return after a four-year break, passed in Polk County and statewide. Issue 3, changes initiative process and legislative referral requirements, failed in Polk County and statewide.


Issues 4, 5 and 6 were removed from the ballot. 


While the outcome of the Presidential Election won't be known for some time, President Donald Trump received 7,018 votes or 82.88% in Polk County. Former Vice President Joe Biden received 1,242 or 14.67%.


US Senator Tom Cotton and Congressman Bruce Westerman, who represents Polk County, were easily re-elected. 


State Representatives John Maddox and Marcus Richmond, as well as a number of Justices of the Peace (Quorum Court Members) and City Councilmen were re-elected without opposition.


The Polk County Election Commission will meet Monday November 9, 2020 at 1:00 p.m. in the conference room of the Polk County Courthouse to review all provisional ballots cast during the November General Election, according to Polk County Clerk Terri Harrison. All meetings of the County Election Commission are open to the public.


11-4-20 9:33 a.m. KAWX.ORG 

Mena Weather